Guitar Scale Modes - Aeolian Mode

The Aeolian Scale Mode is played starting on the sixth note of the the Major Scale, and is the same as the Natural Minor Scale.

Aeolian Scale Mode Pattern

The scale diagram on the left is the pattern used for a two octave Major Scale. The scale diagram to the right shows the Aeolian Scale Mode taken from the same pattern of the Major Scale, starting on the sixth note of the scale. (E Aeolian is Relative to the G Major Scale)

E Aeolian Scale Mode (or E Natural Minor)

E F♯ G A B C D E
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
G Major Scale Pattern E Aeolian Scale Mode Pattern
(natural minor scale)